Gaming - Metal Gear Solid - Techtyche

    Gaming – Metal Gear Solid


    There is no other story-driven video game out there like the Metal Gear Solid series. 

    Since its release in 1987, the Metal Gear Solid franchise has come out with 11 games following the same storyline. 

    You can play it on everything from PC to gaming consoles such as PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

    But, why is the MGS series so popular? Is it really worth playing all the games?

    Quick Summary 

    In this post, we will go over: 

    • Why should you play Metal Gear Solid? 
    • How to Play MGS?

    …and more.

    So, without further ado, let’s get started.

    Why Should You Play Metal Gear Solid?

    If you’re someone who loves intense gameplay, then Metal Gear Solid is the perfect game for you. 

    We have tested many games throughout the years. But Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake is one of the first video games we came across to include stealth mechanics as a part of its core gameplay.

    This makes the game intense and far from boring. 

    The gameplay is implemented in such an impressive way that sometimes we had no choice but to use stealth with anything available to reach the next waypoint. 

    There were instances where we used random things like cardboard boxes, goggles, and magazines. 

    Another thing we love about the franchise is the boss battles. 

    MGS is not only about shooting the opponent until their health bar is exhausted. But, it’s about patience and trial and error to find the boss’s weakness.

    In fact, you might not win most fights unless you isolate their weakness and use them for your good. 

    Moreover, you will be pleased to know that all the bosses play an important part in the development of the story, which makes defeating them all the more interesting. 

    For information on mobile and PC games, read our post of gaming apps here. 

    metal gear solid

    How to Play MGS?

    There are two ways to play the Metal Gear Solid series. You can either play it in the order it was released or in chronological order story-wise. 

    If you ask us, we recommend you play it the way it was intended to, which is its release order.

    The correct order to play it is:

    • Metal Gear (1987)
    • Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake (1990)
    • Metal Gear Solid (1998)
    • Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty (2001)
    • Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater (2004)
    • Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops (2006)
    • Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of Patriots (2008)
    • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker (2010)
    • Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (2013)
    • Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeros (2014)
    • Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom (2015)

    To play it chronologically you can start with Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and end with Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots.


    Now, the question remains, should you play all 11 games? 

    If you’re short on time, you definitely don’t have to play all of them. 

    If you want to play the shortest stories, we suggest you go with Metal Gear, Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, and Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops. 

    They are all explained in the direct sequels of each respective game through pre-mission briefings. 

    Related Articles